Preseason Bracket

Here’s how I see the NCAA Tournament field shaking out by the time we get to March. Some teams are moved around slightly from where they would appear on the S-curve to adhere to NCAA bracketing guidelines. This is what the bracket looks like with teams placed in regions – the city in parentheses next to Seeds 1-4 are where the first and second round games would be played:


  • 1 seeds: Duke, Michigan St., Arizona, Kentucky
  • 2 seeds: Kansas, USC, Wichita St., Xavier
  • 3 seeds: Villanova, Cincinnati, Minnesota, Texas A&M
  • 4 seeds: Miami_FL, West Virginia, North Carolina, Purdue
  • 5 seeds: Florida, St. Mary’s, Louisville, Providence
  • 6 seeds: Gonzaga, Seton Hall, UCLA, TCU
  • 7 seeds: Alabama, Notre Dame, Northwestern, Oregon
  • 8 seeds: Nevada, Virginia Tech, Rhode Island, Baylor
  • 9 seeds: Iowa, Vanderbilt, Michigan, Stanford
  • 10 seeds: Wisconsin, Missouri, Central Florida, Oklahoma
  • 11 seeds: Maryland, Virginia, Harvard, Auburn (play-in), Creighton (play-in)
  • 12 seeds: Bucknell, Missouri St., Louisiana Tech, St. Bonaventure (play-in), Texas Tech (play-in)
  • 13 seeds: Oakland, New Mexico St., Western Michigan, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • 14 seeds: Florida Gulf Coast, Hawaii, Vermont, College of Charleston
  • 15 seeds: South Dakota St., Belmont, UNC Asheville, Manhattan
  • 16 seeds: Samford, Montana, St. Francis (play-in), Morgan St. (play-in), Alcorn St. (play-in), Stephen F. Austin (play-in)

Last four in: Auburn, Creighton, St. Bonaventure, Texas Tech

First four out: Oregon St., Georgia Tech, VCU, Arkansas

Next four out: St. John’s, Butler, Texas, SMU


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s